Sep 26, 2020, 2:22 am

South Dakota National Priorities List (NPL) Site Locations

South Dakota State Flag
The Mount Rushmore State

The Superfund Program, administered under the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA) is an EPA Program to locate, investigate, and clean up the worst hazardous waste sites throughout the United States. The NPL (National Priorities List) is the list of national priorities among the known releases or threatened releases of hazardous substances, pollutants, or contaminants throughout the United States and its territories. The NPL is intended primarily to guide the EPA in determining which sites warrant further investigation.

The boundaries of a South Dakota NPL site are not tied to the boundaries of the property on which a facility is located. The release may be contained with a single property's boundaries or may extend across property boundaries onto other properties. The boundaries can, and often do change as further information on the extent and degree of contamination is obtained.

Please choose a South Dakota county to view a list of NPL sites. If a South Dakota county is not listed there are no NPL sites within the county.


  • Lawrence
    NPL (2)
  • Minnehaha
    NPL (1)
  • Pennington
    NPL (1)